Running Buddy

I ran with my friend S.J. on Sunday. It was a beautiful run, she probably still hates me a little for the hills that I picked on the course. But to my defense I had in mind the girl who ran a 15k and a half marathon last year and she forgot to tell me that she hadn’t been running much this winter.
We ran along the hill right by the Grove Park Inn resort and spa, along the gold course and by all the fancy amazing mansions of that hill.

I have to say that I love running with a friend. It helps me keep a slower pace. I’ve always heard that the right slow pace is when you can still talk to someone else. And frankly I don’t want to run one hour silently when I have a friend by my side. So having S.J. there was really helpful. It got me down to a 9:45 pace for a perfect one hour run. We did stop here and there when she had to stretch a muscle or stop for a side stitch. And let’s be honest, it makes the run seem shorter too when you’re busy catching up.
But overall it was a nice steady run and the landscape made it absolutely worth it.
It also happens to be on part of the course I will be following for the Half Marathon in September.

Would you rather run alone or with a good buddy?

J’ai couru avec ma copine S.J. Dimance. Une belle course à pied, elle doit encore m’en vouloir pour les montées que j’avais choisi sur le parcours. Pour ma défense j’avais en tête la fille qui a couru un 15km et un semi-marathon l’an derniere. Or elle avait oublié de me dire qu’elle ne s’est pas beaucoup entrainée cet hiver.
Nous avons couru sur le versant du Grove Park Inn, passant juste devant l’hotel et longeant le golf et toutes les incroyables manoirs de ce quartier.

Je dois dire que j’aime courir avec des amis. Ca m’aide a ralentir le rythme. J’ai toujours entendu dire que le bon rythme lent c’est quand tu peux parler a quelqu’un d’autre en courant. Et franchement je n’imagine pas courir une heure en silence avec une amie à coté. Donc avoir S.J. là était parfait. Cela m’a permit de suivre un rythme de 9:45 pour une course d’une heure exactement. On c’est arrété ici et là pour étirer un muscle ou calmer un point de coté. En plus honnetement, courir avec elle m’a donnait l’impression de courir bien moins longtemps.
C’était donc une bonne course avec un rythme régulier et le paysage en vallait largement le coup.
Il se trouve aussi que c’est sur une partie du parcours du semi-marathon que je ferais en Septembre.

Vous préférez courir seul ou en bonne compagnie?

Leave your tracks

