Running Fast

Monday I attempted a little bit of speedwork by doing what I think was fartlek on a trail run.
I ran 2.6 miles with a 6 minute warmup then did 1 minute at faster pace, 2 minutes recovery (walking and jogging), 1.5 minutes of fast pace, 3 minutes of recovery, 2 minutes of fast running and then I finished my run in 23:37.
The last fast section was hard, my legs felt like lead but I just pushed through.
I need to learn more about speedwork and maybe find a track to practice.

I also ended up running fast on Wednesday. I joining a running group and for some reason I always end up being late. This time because I went to the wrong pizzaria to meet them. So I drove all across town hoping to make it on time. As I went down the street I saw a few runnners. I rushed to a parking space, ran out of the car locking it as I went and just ran after them. I caught up but it sure made me enjoy the slower pace for the rest of it. I did enjoy that part of it followed Broadway which is the last strech of the half-marathon.
Total 4.25 miles in 38:36. The only thing is that I was expecting a longer run. So now I need to fit in a short 1.5 mile run somewhere since I’m trying to increase my weekly mileage by 10%/week.

Lundi j’ai essayé un peu d’entrainement de vitesse en faisant ce que je pense etre du fartlek sur sentier.
J’ai couru 2.6 miles avec 6 minutes d’echauffement, une minute rapide suivie de 2 minutes de récupération (marche/jogging), 1mn30 rapide-3 minute de récupération, 2 minutes rapides et puis j’ai fini ma course pour un total de 23mn37.
La dernière section rapide était dure dans les jambes, j’avais l’impression d’avoir du plomb dedans, mais j’ai poussé pour finir.
Il faut que j’en apprenne plus sur l’entrainement de vitesse et peut etre aller sur un stade pour m’entrainer.

J’ai aussi du courir vite mercredi. J’ai rejoint un groupe de coureur et j’arrive toujours a arriver en retard. Ce coup ci car j’etais allee a la mauvaise adresse pour le rdv. Il m’a donc fallu conduire vite pour retraverser la ville. Alors que je descendais la rue, j’ai appercu des coureurs. Je me suis depéchée de me garer, fermer la voiture et puis j’ai couru après eux. Je les ai ratrapés, mais autant vous dire que j’ai apprécié la rythme plus lent du groupe. Ce qui était chouette c’est qu’on a en parti suivit Broadway qui fait parti de la dernière section du semi-marathon.
Total 4.25 miles en 38:36. Le seul problème c’est que je m’attendais à une course plus longue. Du coup il va me falloir caler 1,5 miles quelque part dans la semaine vu que j’essaye d’augmenter mon kilométrage semaine par 10%.

One comment on “Running Fast

  1. Pingback: 2011 Running Review | Trail Running Chick

Leave your tracks

