Asheville Chamber Challenge 5K Race Report

Flying to the Finish of the Chamber ChallengeWith the vacation and all I didn’t have much of a chance to mention the Chamber Challenge 5k. I ran it last with barely any running for weeks due to an injury. I finished it then in just under 30 minutes.Nothing spectacular.

This year I was far better trained. It’s a good hilly course with 226 feet of elevation change. The worst is always the last hill, following Montford to the Chamber. But it is also really pretty, going along a lovely history district with several bed and breakfasts.

It was a warm day with temperatures in the high 80’s. Definitely warmer than last year when we had at least some clouds providing shade. My company paid for the event since it’s a team oriented race. We had 8 teams of 4, runners and walkers. Since I was put in a boys teams (3 guys and me) they had hopes for me to finish in 25′ something.

So I made my A goal to finish in 24:59 or under. I’ve only made it in 25:00 once and that was around my flatter neighborhood.
B goal was 25:59 or under.
C goal was in 26:59 or under.

I made it to my B goal. Not only that but it was a PR for a 5k race for me since I made it in 25:48! Yeah. I knew the A goal was a little bit far fetch so I was truly happy when I saw my result. Especially since it was a pretty warm day. I was happy I had water with me and even happier for the cold beer from Highland Brewery at the end.

I did miss my colleagues arrival because I had to go pee. Which in retrospect wasn’t quite the case. I think the heat made me imagine things.
I didn’t really get any good pictures of the race. I almost missed the group shot with my company’s team because I was in the back getting water. You can barely see my little head. I found no half way point pictures and let’s just say that I don’t look at my best on the finish line shots. I do however love the picture my husband took at the arrival [above] which shows me literally flying to the finish with none of my feet touching the ground. I was speeding for the end.

I’m not too happy with the organizers however, not only did they mispelled my name (not unusual), but they listed me as a male. I mean sure I was in a male team but last time I checked I still had all female attributes. Not only that but they messed up big time since all 8 teams from my company where completely ommited from the team’s results. It doesn’t change anything for my team, but from what I saw our girl’s team should have received a 1st place award. They’re looking into fixing it but awards were already distributed and results published in the papers.

Du fait des vacances je n’ai pas eu l’occasion de mentionner la course de 5km du Chamber Challenge. L’an dernier je l’ai couru avec peu d’entrainement suite a une blessure. J’avais fini a peine en dessous de 30 minutes. Rien de spectaculaire.

Cette année j’étais bien mieux entrainée. Le parcours passe par plusieurs collines avec un dénivelé total de 70m. Le pire étant la dernière montée le long de l’avenue de Montford jusqu’à la chambre de commerce. Mais c’est aussi un beau parcours dans un quartier historique avec de nombreux Bed & Breakfast.

Il faisait chaud, 31°C. Plus chaud que l’an dernier où les nuagse offraient un peu de fraicheur. Ma compagnie couvrait les frais d’inscription vu que c’est une course en équipe. Nous avions 8  équipes de 4, des coureurs et des marcheurs. J’avais été ajoutée au groupe des hommes (3 gars et moi) du coup ils esperaient que je finisse la course dans les 25 minutes.

Du coup mon objectif A était de finir en 24:59 ou moins. Je n’ai couru qu’une fois en 25mn et c’était dans mon quartier qui est plus plat.
L’objectif B était 25’59” ou moins.
L’objectif C 26’59” ou moins.

J’ai réalisé l’objectif B. En plus c’est un record personnel pour une course officielle vu que j’ai fini en 25’48”! Je savais que l’objectif A serait difficile a obtenir donc j’étais vraiment contente de mon résultat, surtout qu’il faisait chaud. J’ai apprécié l’eau que j’avais avec moi et encore plus la bière fraiche d’Highland Brewery à la fin.

Par contre j’ai raté l’arrivée de mes collegues car il m’a fallu filler aux toilettes. En fait je pense que c’est la chaleur qui m’a fait imaginer des choses.
Je n’ai pas vraiment de bonnes photos de la course. J’ai quasiment raté les photos de groupe car j’étais à l’arrière à remplir ma bouteille d’eau. On voit à peine ma tête, quand à celle de l’arrivée je fais un peu peur. Il faut que j’apprenne à sourire. Par contre j’adore celle [ci-dessus] où l’on me voit m’envoler vers l’arrivée vu que je ne touche pas le sol. Il faut dire que j’ai bien accéléré à la fin.

Par contre niveau organisateurs ils ont merdé. Non seulement ils ont mal épelé mon nom (pas une grosse surprise), mais je suis marquée comme étant un homme. Oui je fais parti d’un équipe d’homme car la règle est que si il y a 3 homme et une femme le groupe est “male”, mais enfin la derniere fois que j’ai vérifié j’avais encore tous les attributs femelle. En plus de ça il ont réussi à omettre nos 8 groupes des résultats par équipe. Ca ne change rien pour mon équipe mais à priori l’une des équipes filles aurait du être classée comme #1 et recevoir une plaque.  Les organisateurs travaillent à rectifier leur erreur, mais bon les prix ont été distribués et les résultats publié dans le journal.

Thank you stranger for spraying water/ Merci Mr l'inconnu pour l'arrosageFinish Line/ Ligne d'Arrivée

(Photo Credit)

2 comments on “Asheville Chamber Challenge 5K Race Report

  1. Pingback: 2011 Running Review | Trail Running Chick

Leave your tracks

