Half Marathon Training: Week 13

This is the first week that I fully followed the half marathon training. While I’ve been pretty good at keeping up with tempo and long runs I had not yet done speedwork.

Speedwork
On Monday the goal was 3 times 1600m with a warmup and cooloff. The goal was an 8:39 to 8:44 pace.
I ran 13 minutes as a warmup, then did my 1600 meters repeats in:
8m06s00
8m06s97
8m16s63
Which means my first two were close to a 8:09 pace at a and the last one almost 8:19 pace. Oops, someone went a little too fast. I don’t know if it’s a good or a bad things though.
I then took it really chill and ran just under a mile in 9’31.

Tempo Run
My tempo run was with the Diamond Brand Running Group. I almost missed it because I started at the wrong meeting place. I realized my mistake with barely enough time to listen to the instructions. I did not have much time to warm up however. I decided to take it easy on the first mile to avoid injury.
We were on the Mountain to Sea Trail from Bent Creek Park going toward Biltmore Forest. It was beautiful in the forest.
There was one killer hill we went down on, on the way back I passed a lot of people on the uphill because they all walked it. I went slowly but surely and it paid off.
We ran about 6 miles with a 10:00 pace.

Long Run
I was going to run Friday evening but the weather threatened of thunderstorm so I did it in the cool murning instead.
My goal was 11 miles so I mixed up two loops to get to that, including one I wasn’t familiar with. The first loop was great, beautiful white (Carolina) rhododendron were blooming along the trail. It really brought a smile on my face and gave me great motivation.
The second loop was pretty too but the directions were confusing. Well not so much confusing as there was a trail that I did not find on the map. Since I was supposed to take the 2nd trail I came across I took it. But it was the wrong one. So I had to retrace my steps, adding extra mileage. I ended up running about 11.53 miles in 1h54m02s for a 9:53 pace.

I also did some yoga and walking but no biking this week.

Total miles: 22.96

C’est la premiere semaine où je suis vraiment le programme d’entrainement. Même si jusque là je faisais bien mes courses tempo et les longues je n’avais pas encore fait d’exercice de vitesse.

Exercice de Vitesse
Lundi m’on objectif etait de faire 3 fois 1600m avec un temps de course d’echauffement et de recuperation. Le but etant d’avoir une allure entre 8:39 et 8:44 par miles.
J’ai couru 13 minutes pour m’echauffer puis j’ai fait les 1600m en:
8mn06s00
8mn06s97
8mn16s63
Ce qui veut dire que les deux premiers étaient à un allure proche de 8:09 et le dernier de 8:19. Oh, oh, quelqu’un est allé trop vite. Je ne sais pas si c’est bien ou pas.
J’ai fini tranquillement avec un peu moins d’un miles en 9mn31.

Course Tempo
Ma course tempo était avec le groupe de Diamond Brand. J’ai presque raté le départ car j’étais au mauvais point de rendez-vous. J’ai réalisé mon erreur juste à temps pour pouvoir avoir les instructions. Par contre je n’ai pas eu le temps de m’échauffer. Du coup j’y suis allé tranquille pour le premier mile pour éviter les risques de blessures.
Nous sommes partis du parc de Bent Creek en direction de Biltmore Forest sur le Mountain to Sea Trail. C’etait magnifique dans la forêt.
Il y a eu une descente bien raide et au retour j’ai dépassé du monde en la remontant car la plupart l’ont marché. J’y suis allé doucement mais surement et ça a fait la différence.
On a couru environ 6 miles à une allure de 10:00.

Course Longue
J’ai failli courir Vendredi mais l’orage menacait du coup j’ai couru à la fraiche le lendemain.
Mon objectif était de courir 11 miles du coup j’avais mélangé deux boucles pour ça, inclus une que je ne connaissais pas. La première boucle était super, de magnifique Rhododendrons blanc (de Caroline) fleurissaient le long du sentier. Ca m’a vraiment donné le sourire et de la motivation.
La deuxième boucle était plus difficile à suivre. Enfin c’est surtout qu’il y a un sentier qui n’était pas sur ma carte. Et vu que je devais prendre le 2eme sentier que je rencontrais je l’ai pris. Mais ce n’étais pas le bon. J’ai du revenir en arrière, ajoutant du kilométrage en plus. Au total j’ai couru 11,53 miles en 1h54mn02s pour une allure de 9:53 par miles.

J’ai aussi fait du yoga et de la marche mais pas de vélo cette semaine.

Miles total: 22,96.

Leave your tracks

