Half Marathon Training: Week 10

Courthouse Falls

Week 10 of the training was a hot week. The kind of week when you wish you could jump in the above waterfall at the end of a run. No such luck but thankfully it cooled down by the week-end. In retrospect it wasn’t so bad compared to heat the entire country is dealing with this week.

Monday Speedwork
10-20 minute warm-up, 2 x (6 x 400m) @8:19 pace, 10 minutes cool off

I ran from home to the park, did the speedwork and ran back home.
I did not do what was expected. Knowing that I was running back and how hot I was I cut short the speedwork and skipped the last two repeats.
It was officially 88°F outside but it sure felt like more. I was covered in little sweat drops by the time I got home, it was quite fascinating to watch.

On the plus side I officially turned 28 while running (based on my birthtime at home). What a good way to start the year.

1.73 miles in 15’45” @09:06 pace
400m repeats @ 07:14, 07:06, 07:02, 07:06, 07:10, 07:06, 07:18, 07:22, 07:14, 07:18 (time: 1’45”->1’50”)
1.52 miles in 15’488 @10:30 pace

Maybe I should have ran slower and done all 12 repeats…

Wednesday Tempo Run
Goal:1 mile easy, 2 miles @ 9:34 pace, 1 mile easy, 2 miles @ 9:34 pace, 1 mile easy
I ran with the Diamond Brand group on the MST. It felt hot and humid again. It was just a blah run. I did better than the last time I ran on that same course, but still not as good as I had hoped. The rain threatened but never came, it would have been a welcomed relief. The coconut water after the run was however totally awesome.

6.4 miles at 10:00 pace average in 1h04’02”

Long Run
Goal 8 miles @9:54 pace (PHMP +15s)

This lovely cool wave came over the week-end. It just felt awesome and I as a result I couldn’t help myself from running more and making the best of this weather. Looking back I probably should have tried to do my 13 miles run that week. I just had a blast running out on the trail, enjoying the coolness of the air and getting complimented on my stride.

9.2 miles @ 9:06 pace in 1h23’37”

I also had a good yoga class on Thursday and a 30mn bike ride on Sunday. Overall a great week for me. Now if only the coolness would have lasted.

Il faisait chaud durant la 10e semaine d’entrainement. Le genre de semaine ou j’aurais bien sauté dans la cascade ci-dessus aprés avoir couru. Ce n’étais pas le cas mais les températures sont descendues en fin de semaine. Retrospectivement ce n’était pas si terrible comparé aux températures de cette semaine dans le pays.

Exercice de Vitesse du Lundi
Objectif: 10-20mn d’échauffement, 2x (6x400m) @ allure de 8:19, 10 minutes tranquile.

J’ai couru depuis la maison jusqu’au parc, fait les exercices de vitesse et couru pour rentrer à la maison.
Je n’ai pas fait autant que prévu. Sachant qu’il me fallait rentrer et vu la chaleur j’ai raccourci l’exercice en sautant les deux derniers 400m.
Il faisait officiellement 31°C mais on aurait dit bien plus. J’étais couverte de gouttelettes d’eau en rentrant à la maison, c’était assez fascinant à regarder.

Pour le coté positif j’ai officiellement changé d’age pendant que je courrais (vu mon heure de naissance en France). Une bonne facon de commencer mes 28ans.

1.73 miles en 15’45” allure de 09:06
séries de 400m @ 07:14, 07:06, 07:02, 07:06, 07:10, 07:06, 07:18, 07:22, 07:14, 07:18 (time: 1’45”->1’50”)
1.52 miles in 15’488 @ allure de 10:30

J’aurais peut etre du courir moins vite mais faire 12 séries…

Course Tempo du Mercredi.
Objectif: 1 mile facile, 2 miles @ allure 9:34, 1 mile facile, 2 miles @ allure 9:34, 1 mile facile

J’ai couru avec le groupe de Diamond Brand sur le sentier du MST. Il faisait chaud et humide. Ma course était bof bof. J’ai quand même fait mieux que la dernière fois sur le même parcours, mais pas aussi bien que ce que je souhaitais. La pluie menacais mais n’est jamais tombée, s’eut été agréable. Par contre l’eau de noix de coco aprés c’était génial.

6.4 miles a une allure de 10:00 en 1h04’02”

Longue Course
Objectif: 8 miles a une allure de 9:54 (Allure du Semi Marathon Prevue +15s)

Une fort agréable vague de fraicheur est arrivée avec le week-end. C’était vraiment agréable et du coup je n’ai pas pu m’empecher de rajouter quelques iles pour profiter des températures. A y réfléchir aujourd’hui j’aurais aussi bien fait de faire ma course de 13 miles cette semaine la. Enfin, ce qui est fait est fait. Je me suis vraiment fait plaisir sur les sentier, a profiter de la fraicheur et a me faire complimenter sur ma foulée.

9.2 miles à une allure de 9:06 en 1h23’37”

J’ai aussi fait un cours de yoga jeudi et 30mn de vélo samedi. Donc une bonne semaine. Si seulement la fraicheur avait pu durer…

Leave your tracks

