I Can Run a Half Marathon

My husband’s brother in-law has 11 marathons under his belt. So while he is not a running guru I consider him to be well versed in running stuff. When they came to town I showed him my training plan and he was quite surprised.
He said he had never seen a Half-Marathon training plan that takes you above 13.1 miles. In fact most training plans tend to stop around 12 miles keep the magic 13.1 for the arrival line. The training plan I’m following takes me all the way up to 15 miles! And I’m ok with that, it’s giving me amazing confidence in my capacity to run.

According to the plan I should have run the 13 miles last week, but with his sis’ in town I had to reorganized things so I did it today instead of the 10 miles run.
I picked the course I had my eyes on since I got the running book and decided to run the Half: South Ridge Loop. 13.35 miles, 760 feet of elevation change, rated 14/20 on the difficulty level.

I had done part of South Ridge and Hardtimes, so I knew there would be a lot of uphill. There is a little downhill too in fact, this run is like a roller coaster, going up and down against the side of the mountain. I was so happy when I saw the lineup of cairns announcing the apex. And yes the 2 miles on Bent Creek Forest Rd seemed to take forever, but then again I was thankful for the slight downhill and the creek by my side. My left leg was hurting in the last three miles. Almost like a cramp, but more of a “your muscles just ran 9 miles, enough already” kind of feeling.

I am so proud of myself because I just ran at the pace that felt right to me and I finished in 2h07’02”. Which means that I ran the 13.1 in…. 2h04’41”!!!! My PHMP has me finishing in 2h06. I’m already under that goal.
I can’t help it, I think I’m going to aim for a sub 2h. It’s just too tempting, especially since the HM won’t go nearly as high up. According to the map it’s only about 250 feet of elevation change.

Breakfast: a white bread toast with almond butter and some coconut water.
I had half of a chocolate mint gu at 50:00, a Margarita Cliff Block (extra salt) at 1h20. I finished the Gu after then run and add a mini Luna bar too.

Le beau-frère de mon mari a déjà couru 11 marathons. Même si ce n’est pas un gourou de la course j’estime qu’il s’y connait du coup. Quand ils sont venu nous voir je lui ai montre mon programme d’entrainement et il était surpris.
Il m’a dit n’avoir jamais vu un entrainement pour un Semi-Marathon qui te fait aller au delà de 21km. De ce fait la plupart des entrainements s’arrêtent aux alentours de 19 et des poussières, gardent les 21km magiques pour le passage de l’arrivée. Le programme que je suit m’amène a 24km! ça me va, ça me donne une incroyable confiance quand a ma capacité de courir.

D’après le programme j’aurais du courir les 21km la semaine dernière, mais avec la visite de sa soeur il m’a fallu tout réorganiser et du coup je l’ai fait aujourd’hui a la place des 16km.
J’ai choisi un parcours que je zieutais depuis que j’ai mon livre de course et que j’ai décidé de faire le semi-marathon: la boucle de South Ridge. 21,48km; 230m de dénivelé, notée 14/20 en difficulté.

J’avais déjà fait une partie de South Ridge et Hardtimes, donc je savais qu’il y avait de la montée. Mais il y a aussi pas mal de descente, du coup c’est un peu comme les montagnes russes, monter et descendre a flan de montagne. J’étais contente quand j’ai vu l’alignement de cairns qui annonçaient le “sommet”. Et oui les 3km a suivre la route forestière de Bent Creek semblait durer une éternité, mais en même temps j’étais bien contente d’avoir une légère descente et le ruisseau a mes cotés. Les muscles de la jambe gauche tiraient sur les 3 derniers miles, presque comme une crampe, mais bon plutôt comme “tes muscles viennent de courir 15km, c’est pas un peu fini oui?”.

Je suis très fière de moi car j’ai couru a l’allure que je sentais et j’ai fini en 2h07’02”. Ce qui veux dire que j’ai couru les 21km en 2h04’41”!!! J’avais prévu de finir le semi-marathon en 2h06. J’ai déjà dépassé cet objectif.
Je ne peux pas m’empêcher du coup, je crois que je vais viser de finir en moins de 2h. C’est trop tentant, surtout que le semi-marathon n’ira certainement pas aussi haut. D’après la carte il n’y a que 68m de dénivelés (non cumule).

Petit-dej: une tartine de pain blanc avec du beurre d’amandes.
Durant la course: 1/2 Gu menthe-chocolat a 50mn, un block CLiff a la margarita (plus de sel) a 1h20. J’ai fini le Gu apres la course et mange une demie Luna Bar.

5 comments on “I Can Run a Half Marathon

  1. Pingback: The Difference Between 6 months and 50 Degrees | Trail Running Chick

  2. Pingback: 2011 Running Review | Trail Running Chick

  3. Pingback: Half Martahon Training Week 8 | Trail Running Chick

    • Thanks. I was really surprised since it took me 2 minutes less to run 1 less mile the time before that. Of course I ran a much easier course this time.
      I hope I make it too for the race, it would be really exciting. I’ll be happy to finish strong in any case.

Leave your tracks

