Food Worthy of a Marathon Runner (Which I’m Not)

De la Nourriture Digne d’un Coureur de Marathon (que Je ne Suis Pas)

When I ran a little over 13 miles, I had made plans to have hash brown and fried green tomatoes with goat cheese for brunch, with maybe an egg.

When I got home my husband had breakfast patties, a toast, a huge portion of hash browns ready. He was making an omelet for two with 6 eggs! (albeit small ones) and I still had the fried green tomatoes to make.

I looked at my plate and laughed. I couldn’t even eat the toast by the time I was done. Sure I run, sure I do long runs, but I don’t run that much! He must think I already run marathons…
I do love that he is my support crew with a great brunch pretty much ready for me after a long run though.

Quand j’ai couru 21km, j’avais prevu de faire des hash browns (patates râpées et sautées a la poêle), des tomates vertes frites avec du fromage de chèvre et peut être un œuf.

Quand je suis arrivée a la maison mon mari avait des breakfast patties (sorte de saucisse végétarienne), une tartine de pain grille, une énorme portion de hash browns déjà prêt. Il était en train de préparer un omelette pour nous deux a partir de 6 œufs (ok ils étaient petits les œufs). Il me restait encore a préparer les tomates.

J’ai regarde mon assiette et j’ai rigole. Je n’ai même pas pu manger la tartine. Bien sur je cours et je fais de longue course, mais quand même! Il doit s’imaginer que je cours déjà un marathon…
J’adore le fait qu’il soit mon équipe-support et qu’il ait un super brunch prêt pour moi après une longue course tout de même.

2 comments on “Food Worthy of a Marathon Runner (Which I’m Not)

    • It was absolutely delicious. According to mapmyrun I burned 1200 calories that morning so it was needed. And I’m using the the left over tomatoes to make a spin on the BLT today: fried green tomatoes, smoked tempeh bacon, goat cheese and arugula. So it’s a good thing I couldn’t eat it all.

Leave your tracks

