Half Marathon Training, Week 7

Buck Spring Gap Overview on the Blue Ridge Parkway

Monday Speedwork
Goal: 10-20 minute warm-up, 1K @8:32 pace), 2K, 1K, 1K (400m RI), 10 minute cool-down

I was thankful to finish work a little later than usual as it provided me with more shade at the park. I am so looking forward to the fall temperatures. This non stop 90’s nonsense is not something my body enjoys. I had a good time with the speed work. I have to say I was apprehensive of speed work before I gave it a shot but it ends up being less intimidating that I thought.

1.29 miles @ 9:43pace in 12’33”
1K intervals @7:43, 7:20 & 7:32 pace in 4’48”, 4’34” & 4’41”
2K interval @7:45 pace 9’38”
1.01m @10:00 pace 10’06”

Wednesday Group Run.
Goal: 5 mile run @ 9:34 pace

We ran in my neighborhood, which is always nice because it means I get to ride the bike to our meeting point. An other day in the 90’s. I’m ready for fall.
However it was fun because we ran in a section I was not familiar with, so it was nice to check out a new area of my part of the woods.

5.07 miles 9:06 pace

Week-End Long Run
Goal: 14 miles @10:09 pace

I went back to doing my crazy uphill long run. I just love Hickory Top Loop, the challenge of the uphill is fun for me. Since that loop is 9.3 miles I added to it a section on Pine and Explorer Trail. The treat was that my husband joined me to run the last 4 miles with me.
I did pretty good, good enough to pass bikers on the uphill. Good enough to have a guy take his time to pass me on the downhill (to his credit it was trickier on the bike than on foot with all the roots and turns). Hubby also said that I was going faster than he had expected considering how much I had done already.
I only had one cliff block, I think I could have done with two.
My left leg felt sore afterward, I think it’s the effect of the lactic acid.

14 miles @ 9:54 pace

I am looking forward to an a shorter long run this week.

Vitesse du Lundi
Objectif: 10-20mn d’échauffement, 1km @allure de 8:32, 2Km, 1km, 1km (repos de 400m entre), 10mn facile.

J’étais contente de finir le travail un peu plus tard que d’habitude car du coup j’avais plus d’ombre dans le parc. Il me tarde les températures automne. Toutes ces semaines avec 30 degrees tous les jours ce n’est pas quelque chose que mon corps aime. Mais bon l’exercice de vistesse c’est bien passé. J’étais un peu appréhensive avant de commencer mais finalement les distances étaitent moins intimidantes que ce que je pensais.

1.29 miles @ allure de 9:43 en 12’33”
Series de 1km @ allure de 7:43, 7:20 & 7:32 en 4’48”, 4’34” & 4’41”
2K2km @ allure de 7:45 en 9’38”
1.01m @ allure de 10:00 en 10’06”

Tempo en Groupe
Objectif: 5 miles à allure de 9:34.

On a couru dans mpn quariter, ce qui m’arrange car je peux me rendre au point de rdv à vélo. Encore une journée de 30°C. Vivement l’automne.
Par contre c’était sympa car on a couru dans un secteur que je ne connais pas vraiment, donc j’ai apprécier découvrir un nouveau parcours et admirer les maisons.

5.07 miles à une allure de 9:34

Course longue du week-end
Objectif: 14 miles à une allure de 10:09

Je n’ai pas pu m’empecher de faire des gros dénivelés de nouveau. J’aime vraiment beaucoup Hickory Top Loop, j’aime ce genre de défi. Puisque la boucle ne fait que 9.3 miles j’ai rajouté à ça une boucle le long des sentiers de Pine et Explorer. Le plus c’est que mon mari m’a rejoint pour courir les 4 derniers miles ensemble.
Une bonne course, assez bonne pour dépasser des vététistes à la montée. Assez bonne pour qu’un gars ait du mal à me dépasser à la descente (bon il faut dire qu’il y avait beaucoup de racines et c’est plus facile à pied qu’a vélo).
Hubby m’a aussi dit que j’allais plus vite que ce à quoi il s’attendais vu ce que j’avais déja couru.
Je n’ai pris qu’un block CLiff mais deux n’aurait pas été de trop.
Mes jambes était courbaturée le reste de la journée, l’effet de l’acide lactique je pense.

14 miles à une allure de 9:54

Ca va quand même faire du bien d’avoir une longue course plus courte cette semaine.

One comment on “Half Marathon Training, Week 7

Leave your tracks

