Stick Me in a Fridge, I’ll Run Faster

Mettez Moi au Frigo, Je Courrais Plus Vite.

Iceberg on Mendenhall Lake, Juneau, AK.

My lack of presence on this blog is due to the fact that my husband and I went on a family cruise with his parents, sister, step-sister and their other-half. We left the lower 48 as they call it  to go to Alaska. It was cloudy all week and I can say that we had rain everyday exception made for Vancouver and Anchorage. You know what? I’m okay with that. After the hot summer we’ve had I was more than happy to see that the high for the day would be 58 degrees and to pull out my fleece from my suitcase.

What amazed me however was how much faster can run in the cool Alaskan summer. We stopped in the town of Hoonah. Not much to see there except for the excursions organized by the cruise line, so we went for a run. We talked to a local guy who said if we run till the road ends it’s about 3 miles. By the road   he meant where it turns to dirt. So I ran with my husband.

Sure I felt like I was sustaining a good pace, but I wasn’t trying too, I was truly following my legs and how I felt. Well we made it home and I put in the run on map my run. It turns out that I ran 6.48 miles at a 7:45 pace. I mean 7:45!!! I just started at the computer for a while thinking I had my data wrong. But I guess not. Let me run in the 50’s by the sea and show me some bald eagles and I’ll pull a pace PR.

When do you run at your best?

4 comments on “Stick Me in a Fridge, I’ll Run Faster

Leave your tracks

