I May or May Not Be Running a Marathon

Ah the runner’s high! Finishing a Half-Marathon in great shape and realizing the body can do it. Days later, the thought starts to creep up. Could I? Can I? Will I? Could I face the symbol of long distance running? The Almighty Marathon?

When that thought came to my mind I first thought I was nuts. Come on people I took up running barely two years ago. But I’m a runner, we know how that works. As days and weeks went by it grew. As I heard other people talking about theirs, I wanted to join. So I started thinking: Ok, I could run a Marathon before I’m thirty or on my thirtieth year. Sounds fair, it gives me a little bit of time. Then I started looking at Marathons around the world. Flat or course was my #1 criteria. Why would I want to run 26.2 miles uphill after all right. Who in their right mind would do that?
I started thinking it would be cool to run it in France, back in my home country; make a whole trip out of it. Toulouse, meeh the course was all right. Paris then? That looks fun and I know many people who can welcome me there.

So can you tell me why I entered for a chance to win an entry to the Blue Ridge Marathon? I can’t have been in my right mind. The high of the holidays maybe? When Lil’Runner ran a giveaway for a chance to enter a marathon I had a talk with my husband about the pros and cons.

It would mean that I couldn’t run the Dupont State Forest Half Marathon that I really want to run.
But it would be free, and a marathon. My first Marathon. In the same mountain range I live in.
It’s freaking uphill!
But it’s not as far as Paris and does not require a plane ticket.
I love mountains.
I’m obviously a masochist.

He told me to enter and figure it out later. It was when I was in France that I receive the email that I had won. Can I admit it, my first though was shit! I’m the only idiot and masochist who entered for it. Seriously? What’s wrong with me.

Today we’re a 100 days away from the marathon and I signed up. But here’s the catch: I’m not committed.
Seriously. I’m not.
I’m training for it all right, I’m signed up for it all right, but I’m still not sure I’m going to run it.

There are many reasons why I’m not committed. One of them is the hills. I love trail running in Bent Creek. But running 26.2 miles with 3,620 feet of total elevation gain is daunting. I know that if I set my mind to it I can probably do it. The other reasons are more personal and kind of health related. So I here it is I’m training for my first Marathon, but not sure how many people I’ll tell yet (ok besides the whole wide world, but I don’t have to talk to you face to face thank you very much). If for any reason I feel that it is too much, I give myself until April 1st to switch to the Half-Marathon.

And now we need to find a place to stay at.

5 comments on “I May or May Not Be Running a Marathon

  1. I meant consistency specially on your runs but it’s always a pleasure to read your blogs. I’m also looking forwardto having a family christmas next year and a winter christams wold be amazing. I miss it.

  2. I’m a french woman living in Melbourne. Australia. I’ve started running few weeks ago after around 3 years without any sports ( except having 2 kids in 2 years). I have read your both blogs for years now. I just wanted to support you for your marathon . I think you’ve done well and if you feel it just do it. And if you don’t, you’ll still have a very good training. Anyway congratulaitons for all your running and your consistency ( i’m not sur it’s the right word… )

    • Hi Mahi, you can reply in French too. I got lazy on this blog and decided to stop writing in French because I mostly read running blogs in the English community.
      Congratulations on taking up running, I hope it brings you as much joy as it does for me. I see that you already ran your first race to finish the year. Yeah!
      Take it easy at first, mix walking and running and you’ll see in no time you’ll be able to run non stop. If you need any tips let me know (not that I’m an expert or anything).
      Thank you for your support and if you mean consistency by blogging regularly and running as well it is the correct word.

Leave your tracks

