Bikers, Learn the Trails Etiquette

I run a lot in Bent Creek. It’s a really fun piece of the woods with multiple users. I know some people go horseback ridding, although I yet have to come across a horse on the trails, there are tons of mountain bikers, runners and hikers. With multi-usage comes a strong need to respect trail etiquette. There is of course the basic courtesy which states that Bikers should yield to all, and runners should yield to horses.

Now let’s be honest, when you’re hiking and you hear a bike, common sense makes you get the hell away from their path to avoid any point of impact. When hiking I go by safety first rather than who should yield to me.

However when I’m running it’s a little different, I sometimes go faster than bikes (uphill) or at a pace and place that might make it difficult to be passed. When I’m running I also don’t want to stop unless I absolutely have to. And this is where trail etiquette and courtesy come in.

When I come upon hikers, I announce myself. Trail etiquette to me means:

1)announcing yourself (to avoid scaring people preferably)

2)stating which side you will pass people from “Passing to your left”

3)If on a bike it should also include a)”Runner’s up” to warn your friends and b) “x more coming” to let you know how many more are coming up if there are.

Pretty basic and logic right? So allow me to rant when we ran today and had a bunch of idiots on their bikes coming up behind us on the trail. At no point did they announce themselves. The path was wide so we were kind and stayed to the right. When they started passing us I said loudly “Passing to our left I guess?” One of the guys answered “Yeah”. They came from behind us and I could tell there were a few of us so I felt I had to ask “How many more coming?”. Mr. Smartass on his bike said “10!”, and the guy right after him said “more like 5”. Mmh great guys, now we don’t know, so much safer.

When people don’t follow trail etiquette, do you keep quiet or do you feel like educating them?

 

Leave your tracks

