The Penguin Vs. The Stink!

I don’t know you, but when I come back from a run, I sure don’t smell of roses. It doesn’t matter that I take regular showers and use deodorant. When I run I sweat and sweat is stinky. Worse it seems to permeate all of my running clothes over time. The worst being my running bras. They soak in the worst of the sweat and frankly after a while they smelled even before I went for a run. Yes, you know that awful permastink.

The permastink stage is when the smell does not go away even after the item was washed. That is usually the point when my running clothes meet the trash can. But it can be frustrating. First of all running gear is expensive, second I hate to throw something away after what sometimes seems only a few months of (heavy) usage. And then I heard about the Penguin Sport Wash. Someone tried it as part of a running swap and I figured it was worth a shot. And boy am I glad we got it!

My husband wasn’t convinced at first but he still went for the $18 sports detergent when we found it at REI. And let me tell you, it was love at first wash. The clothes came out smelling clean, yes even my oldest sports bra. The difference with regular laundry detergent was amazing. I was about ready to throw that bra away and now I can still wear it (without feeling like I’m about to poison myself)!

I should also say that my husband is highly sensitive to a lot of laundry detergent. Tide and him will never, ever be friends. So he was a little weary of how he would react to this one. Well it turns out he had no problem whatsoever. I think it helps that this is not a scented wash and that it’s biodegradable.

We ‘re lucky to have a high-efficiency washing machine, so half a cap is usually sufficient. However do not do like we did once and throw the towels you sat on in the car after running with the rest of your running clothes. I had to do a second wash. Towels do not need a special sport-wash to be cleaned unlike my sports clothes. It turned out to be a waste of detergent and washer energy. From now on we are doing a running clothes dirty pile to wash them separately.

I was not contacted by Penguin Apparel Care, nor provided any free sample. This bottle was paid with my own dollars and I was just too excited to see the difference in my running clothes not to share. If you are curious about the product, you can go on their website.

Penguin 1-Stink 0

Do you use a sport wash for your running gear or regular laundry detergent?

2 comments on “The Penguin Vs. The Stink!

  1. Thanks for the post! I’m definitely going to have to try this stuff. I was just complaining to my husband last week about the “lingering” smell on my running bras and tanks.

    • You’re welcome! I noticed you ran the ACT Half last year too. It was my first as well, actually that’s the T-shirt bundled up in the photo 🙂 Nice to “meet” another Asheville runner.

Leave your tracks

