Being Thankful: Blue Ridge Marathon Entry Giveway

I can’t tell you how Thankful I am for running. I mean, I could try. It will be Thanksgiving in two days and I have so much to be thankful for. A wonderful husband who is by my side everyday, makes me laugh and takes incredibly good care of me. The full support of my family, a good workplace with amazing co-workers. A healthy pregnancy with a Lil’Pumpkin reminding me everyday how lucky I am with every single kick. Not everyone who wishes to have children can. It is my most precious gift this year, something I can’t stop being thankful for. On top of it, I can still run. I’m six months pregnant and still enjoying lacing my running shoes. Running has done so much for me in the last few years. I gained confidence and not only in my physical abilities. I met people. Running is my strength, it’s my balance, it saves my sanity every day and allows me to deal with stress. Running is my joy. It allows me to stay healthy.

I’m thankful that I got to run a marathon before getting pregnant. I know I will draw strength from it in a few months, when labor comes. I know I can be a tough cookie because I ran one of American’s toughest road marathons.

As promised, I want to share that joy, the reward to finish something people don’t think one can do, the 26.2 miles that most people will never attempt. This week I say thank you to running by offering you a chance to run the Blue Ridge Marathon.

When: April 20, 2013

Where: Roanoke, VA. The race will begin in downtown Roanoke, take you up to Roanoke Mountain by way of the Blue Ridge Parkway (and some amazing view spots), then up to the Star on top of Mill Mountain, down down down to Roanoke again for a last and mentally tough climb in South Roanoke, then along the Greenway to finish by the railroad track.

What: 26.2, 13.1 miles or a relay, including  7,234’ of elevation change for the marathon runners.

Whom: Half-marathoner, marathoner, Relay runners, double marathoner… A bunch of amazing people. Seriously take the time to talk with the runners besides you, you will be in awe. Yes you do have to be just a little crazy enough to attempt this but believe me, you can do it. The volunteers along the way are amazing and the people in South Roanoke will bring a smile to your lips and feed you goodies too.

How: to win an entry:

  • Mandatory: Comment below telling me what you are thankful for and why you want to run this race.
  • For additional entries: share this giveaway (https://trailrunningchick.wordpress.com/2012/11/20/blue-ridge-marathon-giveway) on your blog, facebook or twitter (I Want to #runBlueRidge from @Frenchyncarolin@brm26pt2) and comment below to tell me you did so.
  • Become a follower on my blog and leave me a comment

Contest will end on Friday 30th at midnight EST. Winner will be selected at random and announced shortly after (yes you’ll have enough time to train).

Disclaimer: I was provided a free Blue Ridge Marathon race entry and one free entry to give away.  The winner of the race entry is responsible for travel and lodging expenses.

11 comments on “Being Thankful: Blue Ridge Marathon Entry Giveway

  1. I’m thankful for legs that run and a strong heart that beats. After seeing my uncle suffer and die from cancer I’m lucky I have the capacity to run a mile let alone 26.2!

  2. Im thankful that I have learned to believe in myself enough to run and that I can instill that in my kiddo– who this entry is for– so my 12 y/o can have the rights to say he took part in America’s Toughest Road Race!

  3. I am thankful that I am able to run after one doctor told me that I shouldn’t. I am thankful for getting a second opinion!! 🙂 I’d like to do this race with my husband, which is why I am entering the contest on his behalf.

  4. Pingback: 25 & 26 Weeks Pregnancy Update | Trail Running Chick

Leave your tracks

